Home theatre amp

Want your home to sound as good as your car? Need help buying electronics? Computer problems?
BigDaddy

Home theatre amp

Post by BigDaddy »

Hey guys. I'm looking at picking up an amp to start off my home theatre. The problem is I don't know much about them. This is the one I'm looking at:

http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetai ... p%5FYamaha#

please take a look and let me know what you think.

Thanks,
Jason
Misfire

Post by Misfire »

Well I am no expert, there are a lot of guys here with more experience than myself with HT. I have a Yamaha HTR-5940 6.1 unit running an Infinity set and I think it sounds great. Its been dependable and has never shut down even when I spent a weekend doing a Band of Brothers marathon with the sound cranked almost 12 hours straight. There's my .02$ worth anyway.
Pedi
Flærdy flærdy børk børk

Post by Pedi »

I went for the new Onkyo TX-NR807EB... Cool as hell... And a nice price, too...
Selling your Ti9 mids? PM me, please..

I also need a DD10...
kg1961
Got wood?

item

Post by kg1961 »

I use a hk 645 7.1 all the time sounds great and got it for 1/2 off when i bought it
most of my gear is gone :liar:
2020 honda accord sport
BigDaddy

Post by BigDaddy »

The sale price is what drew me to this amp. Although I am still trying to decide between comparable denon and onkyo amps as well. They all seem pretty close which makes the decision even more confusing.
gridracer
RIP

Post by gridracer »

Right now I have a kenwood VR-510 http://hometheater.about.com/blvr-510.htm and its ok but my next amp will be an Onkyo for sure.
Me-262

Post by Me-262 »

Why on earth didn't you buy the 6290 that was on sale for $799 ? That was the hella steal of this boxing day. The one you picked is still decent solid gear. I went Denon last year from Yam and bought the 899.
BigDaddy

Post by BigDaddy »