How do you change a battery?

Have a car? Is it broken? Want to make it faster? Got cool pictures?
Eric D
Short Bus Driver

How do you change a battery?

Post by Eric D »

I have been driving for close to 15 years and I have never had to change a battery. Well, my wife's car needs a new one, so I went out and got one and now I need to put it in.

It is on a charger right now to "top it off" so to speak. I don't know if I need to do this, but I figure it cannot hurt.

How do I replace the one in the car with it? I don't want to loose any settings on the radio, or the programming on the remote start, so I had planned to start the car first, pull the old battery and then put the new one in and after a bit shut the car off. (All the while making sure not to touch the (+) lead to anything metal!)

Now in the past people have told me the car won't run without the battery in it, but I find that to be total crap, as when the car is running it gets its power from the alternator, not the battery. My only fear is the regulator relies on the battery for some measure of filtration and by removing it while the car is running I risk damaging AC hitting one of the "computers" in the car.
Got "schooled" by member shawn k on May 10th, 2011...
No longer really "in tune" with the audio industry, and probably have not been for some time.
Hands down the forum's most ignorant member...
Don't even know what Ohm's law is...
stipud
Voltage Ohms

Post by stipud »

I know many mechanics who use the technique you describe. I have not heard of a case of it failing from any one of them. But of course as you said, there is potential for a voltage spike that could damage your car's fragile computers. So while it is possible, I have personally weighed these options myself, and I always end up doing it with the car off and redoing my settings. 5 mins reprogramming beats a fried car, even if the likelihood of an issue is small.
phonixx
100th Member

Post by phonixx »