It is currently Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




 Page 1 of 6 [ 144 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:26 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 63
Finally!

Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 9:21 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:39 am
Posts: 252
Looks to be a very nice All-in-1 solution.....!



_________________
System in progress...
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:24 pm 
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:53 pm
Posts: 14403
damn you J.write I will say it again and no I am not sorry :) ......

right at the 13 sec mark covers it PERFECTLY!



anyone have the dimensions/weight of this monster yet?



_________________
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:31 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 4:44 pm
Posts: 1846
Location: Canada
If I had to guess, it will be the same dimensions as the other three models.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 8:20 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:39 am
Posts: 252
Same size as the other Elite



_________________
System in progress...
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 4:44 pm
Posts: 1846
Location: Canada
That's my guess. The .1 .2 and .4 are all the same size. And from the pic it looked the same as well. I hope it is. I can replace my 500.4ti and 800.1ti. And have less footprint.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:01 am 
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:53 pm
Posts: 14403
that would be apretty cool trick but I have a hard time thinking it would all be the same size with 3 power supplies and basically two amps under one chassis.



_________________
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:27 am 

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:05 pm
Posts: 25
Yes, it is the same size as the other amps in the Elite line.



_________________
Rob Derry
Research & Development
AAMP of America/Stinger/Phoenix Gold
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:49 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 63
justrob wrote:
Yes, it is the same size as the other amps in the Elite line.



When will it be up on the PG site?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:14 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 4:44 pm
Posts: 1846
Location: Canada
Sweet. Can't wait to get one.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:26 pm 
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:53 pm
Posts: 14403
oh hell same size well I will have to say it then its a cool trick. Its on my list if I get enough xmas cash this year. With the sub side on this good to 1 ohm it would work to drive the heck out of my 3 - 10"s, and a single .2 would be all I would need other then this to drive the Ti9's. Would be cool to have a mix of old/new Elite lines.

One final question now for rob/ - would it be possible to use the old R-links to monitor the thermal/voltage conditions of the amps? From the schematics I have on the R-links they look to do nothing more then to monitor the output of the thermal led, then use transistors to turn its corrosponding lights(blue/green/red) as well as a simple volt meter. Would it be possible to tap the leg of the thermal led in the elite amps and use that for the R-links? I just finished building a mount for them and would like to keep them and use them.



_________________
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:13 am
Posts: 2330
Location: Portland, Oregon
I know what I'm gettin' to replace my JL 300/4 and 500/1 .... :twisted: :mrgreen:



_________________
Audison Bit Ten
Hertz HSK163's (x2)
Hertz HX250 subs (x2)
Hertz HDP1
Hertz HDP4
PG Tantrum BassCUBE
XS Power D4900
Misc. PG Install Goodies


"Old-Skool TI-Whore"
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 3:02 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 63
Actual pictures here > http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/tec ... -week.html


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 8:22 am 

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:05 pm
Posts: 25
Here is a birth certificate from 1.


Attachments:
Elite.5 birth cert.jpg
Elite.5 birth cert.jpg [ 335.74 KiB | Viewed 7157 times ]

_________________
Rob Derry
Research & Development
AAMP of America/Stinger/Phoenix Gold
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:01 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 63
justrob, is Morgan still with aamp? I have not seen any post from him latley.










.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:30 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:39 am
Posts: 252
I think he still is, he provided some info on the .5 just before it was unveiled....



_________________
System in progress...
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 6:35 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 4:44 pm
Posts: 1846
Location: Canada
Is there any idea when they will be available yet?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 8:13 pm 
Morgan @ PG
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:51 am
Posts: 634
I am here, just VERY busy at the moment working on new products for 2013.

We have 12 new amplifiers and 9 new speakers/subs! Sit tight more news to come.



_________________
Morgan West
Phoenix Gold Product Manager
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:44 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 63
MW3 wrote:
I am here, just VERY busy at the moment working on new products for 2013.

We have 12 new amplifiers and 9 new speakers/subs! Sit tight more news to come.



I understand! I was surprised that you did not give any teaser on this amp. Anyway, I am happy to see an elite 5 channel amp. I plan on getting one soon.



.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:37 am 
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:53 pm
Posts: 14403
don't suppose you would know about the r-links working on the elite amps would you morgan? Know anyone that would?



_________________
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 8:07 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:33 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Ont. Canada
MW3 wrote:
I am here, just VERY busy at the moment working on new products for 2013.

We have 12 new amplifiers and 9 new speakers/subs! Sit tight more news to come.



Working on Canadian distributors too hopefuly .



_________________
Collection Growing..........
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:10 pm 
Morgan @ PG
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:51 am
Posts: 634
ttocs wrote:
don't suppose you would know about the r-links working on the elite amps would you morgan? Know anyone that would?


RMD works with any Elite amp, but R-Link is too old school. ;)

You can "hard wire" the SDT voltage display to the amplifier to get the voltage display to show up, but to get the status LED to work is not easy.

I think there are some RMD port to SDT display wiring tips around the forum here somewhere...



_________________
Morgan West
Phoenix Gold Product Manager
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 8:05 pm 
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:53 pm
Posts: 14403
I know its from a previous generation but the schematics I found on the r-link are pretty simple. It just monitors the thermal led status, and then uses transistors to power the leds in its displays. I don't have access to the new amps schematics to see if the leds are pos/neg trigger on the new amps to know if they would work together and was hoping someone there would know.

Was considering upgrading to the elite line but now that I am 90% done on the display that they go in I will just stick with the old gear I guess. Cheaper for me anyway.



_________________
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:14 am 
Morgan @ PG
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:51 am
Posts: 634
Buy a 'new' RMD, plug it in and be done with it. I am sure you can make it fit, even though its smaller than the current SDT display.

It also costs 1/4th price at least of the bloated R-Link/SDT display.



_________________
Morgan West
Phoenix Gold Product Manager
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Phoenix Gold Elite.5 5 Channel
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:34 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 1:00 pm
Posts: 245
Location: Bournemouth, England
MW3 wrote:
I am here, just VERY busy at the moment working on new products for 2013.

We have 12 new amplifiers and 9 new speakers/subs! Sit tight more news to come.


Would this include a three way Elite component speakers set?



_________________
Alpine CDA-9886R
PG ZX250v1
PG ZX350v2
PG ZX450v1
PG Elite .65cs
PG QX 5.25
PG Ti12 sub x2
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 6 [ 144 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: