It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Elite.1 Strapping Question
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:36 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:59 pm
Posts: 1013
When strapping two Elite.1's, is it to be assumed that the 2 Ohm power output, THD, current draw, and everything else would be roughly equal to the 1 ohm numbers of two Elite.1's? As I understand it, it basically behaves like bridging a 2 channel amp. Is that right, or is there another benefit that I am missing?



_________________
Being loud without good sound quality is pointless, but having good sound quality without being loud is also pointless.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Elite.1 Strapping Question
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 7:13 pm 
Got wood?
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:31 pm
Posts: 9012
Location: Calgary
I would guess they would take the power of running 2 normal elite .1 at 2ohm each. The advantage is more power to a single set of subs



_________________
2002 vw gti 337
Alpine ine-w940/GPS dvd
Alpine h800 and controller
Ppi 65.2 mids and tweeter
12 pg xmax
2 pg xenon
1 pg q 12 4ohm
Pg I farrad tantrum cap
Kicker Q series 12inch sqaure sub l7 d4
Kxa800.1 mono anp wireless remote
kxa 400.4 4 channel
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Elite.1 Strapping Question
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:10 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:59 pm
Posts: 1013
I would have thought that as well, but i read somewhere that strapping two together yields about 8,000 watts rms into a 2 ohm load. Since the 1 ohm power of 1 amp is roughly 4,000 rms, that is what makes me think that it behaves like bridging a 2 channel amp. On the old two channels, they'd be 2 ohm stable in stereo, but only 4 ohm stable bridged, because the act of bridging the channels doubles the load itself. The current draw and THD at 1 ohm on those amps is MUCH worse that at 2 ohm though, so running that kind of load is something I'm trying to avoid. You'd be looking at over a 750 amp current draw, not to mention that the THD is four times higher.

On that same train of thought I would surmise that two strapped at 4 ohm would yield roughly 5600 watts rms with roughly a 400 amp current draw.

I'm trying to find out from someone official like Morgan if there is any benefit to strapping two amps over just running them straight as independent amps. It doesn't seem like it, but I could be missing something.



_________________
Being loud without good sound quality is pointless, but having good sound quality without being loud is also pointless.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Elite.1 Strapping Question
PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:34 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:55 am
Posts: 169
You gain the ability to run mono bass to three/5/7/9 subs evenly.... As opposed to stereo OR mono bass unstrapped with an even number of subs. Also, gain matched strapped amps can power a single coil. You could strap two old ti800.1's per voice coil of a sub.... Or two elite.1's per coil if you could find subs that could handle a killofuckton per coil........


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Elite.1 Strapping Question
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:25 am 
Morgan @ PG
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:51 am
Posts: 634
Strapping two amps is basically bridging them. Double the current draw, double the power since you now have two amps.

The only real benefits (as Vlad points out).

1. Your gains are now matched since usually strapping allows one amplifier's pre-amp to the be the master. Also, the master's crossover now apply to both amplifiers, so they will also be the same.

2. You can run two monoblocks into a single voice coil. Really only applies to SPL guys. For example, you can run 8k+ RMS (Two Elite.1s) into a single 2 ohm coil.



_________________
Morgan West
Phoenix Gold Product Manager
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Elite.1 Strapping Question
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:33 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:59 pm
Posts: 1013
Thanks :clap:



_________________
Being loud without good sound quality is pointless, but having good sound quality without being loud is also pointless.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: