My brief review of some Exile gear

Reviews for car audio, or general products.
mr tibbs
Forum Goatee

My brief review of some Exile gear

Post by mr tibbs »

So, I think I finally have the install in the FJ Cruiser nailed down enough to do a review on the Exile gear I have installed in there. First of all I am no pro or anything so don't expect much here, I'll give my honest feedback on the gear and that is all I can give.

So, without further ado, here she blows! The gear I have installed is a set of Exile XP65's slimline comps and a Exile XT12 slimline sub. All of this is run off of a Phoenix Gold Xenon 200.4 (with the Onyx cover)with the gains set correctly with a DMM. I stuck with the OEM Toyota HU because it's a 6 disc MP3 changer in the dash, I might change this out in the near future though. Also there is a Phoenix Gold PLD44 Line Driver in there as well used as both a line driver and a LOC. Here is a pic of the gear before install:

Well start off with the comps. My first impression out of the box is "Holy crap, these are soooooo light!" Seriously, I picked up a mid and it feels light as air! I couldn't believe it, it was sooooo weird to have mids this light. The tweets felt heavier than the mids, and they looked great. The protective grill reminds me of a DSL tweet I once saw, I love the look of it! The x-overs looked pretty standard, pretty much like any other x-over I have installed. But again, I'm no expert so I have no idea what components go into these so I'm not one to judge. I should mention that these comps are bi-ampable via the x-over though. That's a damn nice feature not normally found at this price point. Here are some pics: