It is currently Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AX406a Question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:55 am 
Got wood?
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:31 pm
Posts: 9035
Location: Calgary
I plan on using it with my 3 ways set up. Sub going to focal fp800 ,mids 6.5 focal going to front of focal fp475 and the tweeter going to rear focal 475.
The xover's on the amps will be turned off.
Now I am reading the pg manual and
it looks like you need 3 xover chips. Am I wrong?
U23 will be set at 85hz-3200 band pass (mid) and the tweeter will be U24 3200hz and up
now for the sub looks like I need a xover chip for U25
if not how do I do this
I will use one set of RCA to the front input. The rear input will not be used.
low to the sub with the parallel switch on, Rear to the mid Band passed, and front to High pass (tweeter)
I have never used on but please let me know if I am wrong. I would like to use a LPL also as Focal bass knob is made for little people...lol it only 7-10mm high and will not work were I want to install it
If I need another xover chip anyone have a extra 85hz laying around they want to sell me. I know I can make it but for the time and my shitty soldering skills I would rather just pay for it
any info and input would be great
thanks again
Mike



_________________
most of my gear is gone
2019 Vw jetta sel
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:31 am 
Soy Milquetoast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 4423
Location: The best place on earth
I might have an 85Hz chip... I made a few a while back but damned if I know where I stashed them.

As for the xover, my only experience is with the 204A so I'm sorry I can't help from experience but it sounds like you're right.



_________________
SOLD: '91 PG 4Runner
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:57 am 
Briaans..... BRIAAAAANNNNNNS
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:06 am
Posts: 10759
Location: So easy, a cavewomen could do him
i have one...but its in a amp....what other chips do you have to trade?



_________________
my ex-girlfriend said "its car audio or me"
i've had tougher choices at a soda machine...
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:11 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:43 pm
Posts: 801
I think you are hooking it up wrong... if you want to use the bandpass function, you need to use the rear inputs... i have my dads car setup in three way mode, and he has the sub chip at 70 hz... then we are running 2 6.5s from 70 to about 350 hz this is done on i think the front input (bandpass), and then the 350 hz chip controls the rears (highpass) from 350 up... id think you will need to use all three inputs, as I know I am... as for the 85 chip, why not buy a blank r net and make your own with resistors? Ive done this a few times, and it works great... :D



_________________
FAS#73 & AX406A#73/Frank'd EQ230
BNIB MS2250 w/ shroud, 2 MS2250TAs, MS275, MQ430
2 Ti1200.1s, 2 ZX475Tis, Ti500.4, DD10, 6 Powercores
5 Orion 2100, 1 250 - HCCA Digital Ref. v2
6 Alpine 3558 Class A's - for sale
Alpine DigiMax system complete for sale
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:18 am 
Tim Horton Himself
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 4:49 pm
Posts: 2260
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
It's been ages since I set up my 406A, but if I recall correctly, don't you need inputs in both front and rear to go 3-way? I also don't think the RJ-11 port on the 406 is an LPL. It's an adjustment for centre X-over frequency. It rocks and allows you to adjust for different sources, but an amplfier connected LPL is also recommended. That would be two knobs, though. Kinda like having Stip and Fuzzy in your car at the same time.

Are your rear Focals actually in the rear of the car? If so, you may be disappointed in the results. I put mids and tweets in both the front and rear. Each speaker has it's own amplifier channel (three amps - 2 X 4Chnl and one mono for subs). No fader. I adjusted each amp channel's output to match my listening preference. I know at one point, I tested tweets in the back with mids in the front and it sucked big fat hairy ass.

When I get home, I'll refresh myself with my install drawings and get back to you. I know I have a pile of R-Nets too. PG sent them gratis several years back. Lemme check it out....

Standby over....

HH



_________________
The only stupid question is the one not asked .......
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: item
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:36 am 
Got wood?
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:31 pm
Posts: 9035
Location: Calgary
the focal are in the fronts one 4 channel amp and one 1 channel amp for subs
I only want one lpl type of item. I'm not using the rear fill at all.
As for the one rca in the inputs for the 3 way is the way Pg has it in the manuel?
this is why im asking
I want one bass knob 2 amps to run mids/tweeter and a sub
so do I need another xover chip or am I fine with out?
someone that used or using one please let me know

I don't have any extra chip just need a 85 hz if I need the 3rd chip



_________________
most of my gear is gone
2019 Vw jetta sel
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:40 am 
Tim Horton Himself
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 4:49 pm
Posts: 2260
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Ok, here we go......

U25 - Low Pass R-Net - Any frequency BELOW this R-Net value will pass
U24 - High pass R-Net - Any frequency ABOVE this R-Net value will pass
U23 - Band Pass R-Net - Any frequency ABOVE this R-Net value and BELOW U24 R-Net value will pass.

U24 determines lower corner frequency for tweets AND upper corenr frequency for mids

Therefore, U23 and U25 are usually the same value to ensure ALL mid-range frequencies are passed. In other words, nil frequencies are blocked, just routed to the correct output.

Mine is set as follows:
U25 - 90 hz - anything below 90 hz to subs
U23 - 600 hz - anything above 600hz to tweets
U24 - 600 hz - anything between 90 hz and 600 hz to mids

I remember going through the same mind screw when I first looked at the PG manual, especially with the hand inserted corrections.

HH

BTW - The only R-Nets I have are 125hz. They were installed in my 406A when received. PG sent me the 90's and 600's.



_________________
The only stupid question is the one not asked .......
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ax406a
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:22 pm 
Got wood?
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:31 pm
Posts: 9035
Location: Calgary
Hosehead
so than the only r net I need is 85hz for the U23 than I will have sound 85 down for the sub and 85hz to 3200 for the mids than U24 for the tweeter 3200 and up. do I just leave U25 open?
does the ax406a have a lpl set up for some reason I thought it did. Im at work so I can't take a look
if not I will use the one that came with my focal amp and just mod it a bit

I think this is right Hosehead let me know what you think



_________________
most of my gear is gone
2019 Vw jetta sel
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: item
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:04 am 
Got wood?
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:31 pm
Posts: 9035
Location: Calgary
just reading a bit more on this ax406a item #14 in the manuel said it has a optional low pass level controller = lpl I just want to make sure this is right
I looked at the unit last night but is said something else not word for word as the manuel said. so I guess it is? anyone?
I would rather use the new lpl I have over the focal one but let me know what everone thinks.... Also am I right with the post above this one when using the 3 way set up



_________________
most of my gear is gone
2019 Vw jetta sel
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:06 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 1567
Location: Calgary
just plug it in and go, the 204a I had was the same way if I'm not mistaken. It (LPL) increases the line voltage on the way out to the sub amp. this is what you want. It's no different than if it's through an EQ(my setup), X-over(yours) or directly into a PG amp with LPL port, it all works the same way.



_________________
screw car audio, I'd rather go fast....errr, wait a minute.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: item
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:10 am 
Got wood?
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:31 pm
Posts: 9035
Location: Calgary
thanks again Corey
now Im just needing to know if I can just use the 2 xover and the whole thing will work for me in 3 way set up



_________________
most of my gear is gone
2019 Vw jetta sel
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:55 am 
SOFA-KING
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 5348
Location: Graz, Austria
Your setup will be:

Low pass out plays everything under the frequency from U25 (85Hz)

Band pass out plays everything between the frequencies from U23 (85Hz) (lower corner) and U24 (3200Hz) (upper corner)

Hi pass out plays everything above the frequency from U24 (3200Hz)

Your switch should be on 3 way mode and u will need the 3rd chip!
I´ll send u one more R-net with a value of 85Hz and your setup is ready to go Mike! 8)



_________________
Music is silver, PHOENIX is GOLD
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:38 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:43 pm
Posts: 801
joerg wrote:
Your setup will be:

Low pass out plays everything under the frequency from U25 (85Hz)

Band pass out plays everything between the frequencies from U23 (85Hz) (lower corner) and U24 (3200Hz) (upper corner)

Hi pass out plays everything above the frequency from U24 (3200Hz)

Your switch should be on 3 way mode and u will need the 3rd chip!
I´ll send u one more R-net with a value of 85Hz and your setup is ready to go Mike! 8)
exactly, and he needs to use all 6 outputs... two (or left only if bridged and have a bridged switch on amp) to sub, the two middle ones which I think are FRONTS in 2 way mode, will be the BANDPASS or mid range woofers, and the two inputs on the right will be for REARS on two way mode, and HIGHPASS on the 3 way mode... if the 406 has the label on the top of it, it says all of this pretty clearly. :wink:



_________________
FAS#73 & AX406A#73/Frank'd EQ230
BNIB MS2250 w/ shroud, 2 MS2250TAs, MS275, MQ430
2 Ti1200.1s, 2 ZX475Tis, Ti500.4, DD10, 6 Powercores
5 Orion 2100, 1 250 - HCCA Digital Ref. v2
6 Alpine 3558 Class A's - for sale
Alpine DigiMax system complete for sale
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AX406a Question
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:17 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 2:20 am
Posts: 2
Hi this is my 1st question, I think, I need a manual for an ax406 ? Also I have a couple audiocontrol 4xs’s they work similarly,right? I’m going to buy an Ax406 to ad more flexibility to a DSP I’m using and PG equipment always performed so well I thought it would be better than the 4xs although I have all the parts very high end parts to upgrade the 4XS Back Gates etc.any thoughts or help would be appreciated!!! :D


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AX406a Question
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:27 am 
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:53 pm
Posts: 14484
not sure on the comparison to audio control but here is a link to a pdf for the manual on the 406

http://download.phoenixphorum.com/Manua ... AX406A.pdf



_________________
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: