It is currently Tue May 21, 2019 11:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: EQ215x Not Powering Up
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:52 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:13 am
Posts: 30
Hey guys,

I bought a EQ215X (the newer all silver writing one) and the other day I went to test it before installing it and no power. I know this is a general question but where do I start for troubleshooting? I traced the 12v along the board and it looks like it is good up until it gets to the toroid (little black shroud thingy with 3 sets of magnent wire wrapped around it) and then there is no power past that. It seems to fluctutate between 8 and 12v into that which is odd but I am not an electronics guy. I wanted to ask here for some direction on what i can look at (opamp voltages and other what not) before I start going down a rabbit hole. Thanks in advance and if more detail is needed, just let me know. I will try to update with some photos tonight.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EQ215x Not Powering Up
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 3:32 pm 
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:53 pm
Posts: 14451
just to start simple, Does that one have the delayed remote output on it? There isn't a chance you used that on accident?



_________________
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EQ215x Not Powering Up
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:08 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:13 am
Posts: 30
Nah, it is hooked up correctly as far as the inputs. B+ B- R and nothing on the DR


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EQ215x Not Powering Up
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:39 pm 
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 11:57 pm
Posts: 1441
Location: Beaverton 48612
The eq has a switcmode power supply, just like any amplifier that's worth its salt.

If the smps controller ic is switching, then it's not abnormal that the voltage is fluctuating on the 12v side of the toroidal transformer. If you switch your meter to ac, it's more than likely about 6v AC while referenced to the center tap on the windings.

The power supply should be putting out ±15v after the rectifiers. If I recall correctly, those are the only "rails" in the eq's and it's the dual ended supply for all the op-amps.

If you have ruled out wiring errors and fusing issues, then there are really far too many other possibilities to troubleshoot it over the internet.

Good luck,
Jason



_________________
M: M100, M44 for a custom amp project
Zx: Zx500, Zx450, Black Zx350
ZxTi: 4 Zx600Ti's, 1 Zx400Ti
Ti: 5 800.1's & 900.7 for a custom amp project. 1 1200.1, 1 1000.2
Tantrum: 2 1200.1's, 1 600.4, 1 500.2
XS: XS6600
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EQ215x Not Powering Up
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:59 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:13 am
Posts: 30
I actually fixed it as far as the power side goes. I replaced the mosfets and it powered right up. Now onto the output side. There is a rhythmic thud coming out of the low pass output.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron