how loud are the cyclones

Need help with your car stereo system? Have a technical question? Post here.
Murph

how loud are the cyclones

Post by Murph »

Hi I was wondering how loud a single cyclone in the correct enclosure would be compared to 2 12's. I am talking in the range of 15-30hz comparison. Also how would a cyclone do in a 4th order. I am new to the "phorums" and love os pg.
ttocs
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Re: how loud are the cyclones

Post by ttocs »

the cyclone is difficult to explain. I think they said it was equal to two 12s back in the day but idunno. For the freqs you have listed thy will pound the hell outta you, just need something to fill the upper range.
what else can I say I am a grumpy asshole most of the time.
Murph

Post by Murph »

say I put it in a 3.5-3.75 cubic foot box tuned to 20-24hz. How loud would one of these get in there. If you had to take a guess at least for comparison the first song is playing at frequencies from 32-27hz.
ttocs

Post by ttocs »

I was only lucky enough to do one install with one. The thought that sticks out in my head after all these years was the first time we really cranked it up, the other installers drill was on the rear package tray. As soon as the first note hit it launched that thing out and I was just luck to catch it....
Murph

Post by Murph »

ttocs wrote:I was only lucky enough to do one install with one. The thought that sticks out in my head after all these years was the first time we really cranked it up, the other installers drill was on the rear package tray. As soon as the first note hit it launched that thing out and I was just luck to catch it....