Understanding RMS vs Peak

Need help with your car stereo system? Have a technical question? Post here.
Wigzter

Understanding RMS vs Peak

Post by Wigzter »

Hey PP people!

So if any of you have read any of my recent posts you know I'm a car audio noob. But with a lot of self research and help from you guys I've managed to setup my ride sounding really good and tuned to perfection IMO.

Anyways, I know that RMS power is continuous power and Peak power is the punchy boom ones right?

So my question is, my two Ti212D4's are 600RMS and 1200 Peak a piece so since I have two of them, on paper I should be around 1200RMS and 2400 Peak. After researching JL audio subs, they're for example 100-400 RMS. So I'm guessing it optimal inbetween that range. But what about my subs? Is it optimal around 1200RMS or is that the max for both my subs. So what would be my optimal range?

With a DMM I tuned it to about 34 volts. 1200 watts is 34.6 volts for my system setup. So just shy of 1200 watts. But it doesn't sound crystal clear bass until I hit 28/40 volume. Which is where I normally listen to it.

Basically I don't want them underpowered and I don't want to blow them either.

Thanks again PP for the help in advanced!
06 Chevrolet Tahoe
Bose Factory System w/ PAC Line Out Converter
(2) Bose Tweeters
(2) 4" Bose Midranges
(4) 6.5" Bose 4peakers
(1) Ti21300.1 Amplifier on Stinger 4ga Power/Ground
(2) Ti212D4 Subwoofers wired to 1ohm load
trickyricky

Re: Understanding RMS vs Peak

Post by trickyricky »

RMS = Root Mean Square ....its a formula, peak is just 2x the amount of RMS. So basically RMS is the SAME as PEAK regarding power output, Peak just makes it seem much more powerful (the amp that is, lol).