Phoenix Gold M50 Amp

Need help with your car stereo system? Have a technical question? Post here.
Escy

Phoenix Gold M50 Amp

Post by Escy »

Hi guy's, i'm a car audio novice. A year back I bought a 2nd hand sub and amp from my local ad paper. The amp is the M50, the sub is a 12" Kicker Solo Baric (somthing like that, a square one). I only used it for a while and it sounded good enough to me.

I recently changed car and wanted to put it in my new one, i've been reading around and it seems like the M50 isn't really up to the job of running a big sub. Am I best off looking to sell the amp on and buy something else to get the best out of the sub?

The M50's seem well regarded and look like the hold their money quite well. Would I be able to sell it on and get something thats not as good quality but more suited to run a sub for the money a M50 would fetch? Any recomendations on an amp?

Cheers, Tom.
fuzzysnuggleduck
Soy Milquetoast

Post by fuzzysnuggleduck »

If by "more suited" to run a sub you mean more power, then sure you could sell the M50 and get likely enough coin to buy a decent Class-D amplifier for sub duty that puts out more power. You will however sacrifice SQ, which may or may not be an issue if it's just for sub duty.

If you want a decent sub amp for not a lot of money, the PG RSd 300.1 or 600.1 would probably be a good match. Alternatively you could get a PG Ryval series for even a bit less.
SOLD: '91 PG 4Runner
ttocs
the Floor Sweeping Hack with Golden Ears

Post by ttocs »

welcome to the forum and the hobby! That amp is all wrong, you would be better off getting rid of it and getting something better. I'll give you $20 for the M50 and you can go find a nice class D amp.
waynehead
No, you're a towel.

Post by waynehead »

ttocs wrote:welcome to the forum and the hobby! That amp is all wrong, you would be better off getting rid of it and getting something better. I'll give you $20 for the M50 and you can go find a nice class D amp.