Shallow sub choice - PG SL10D2 ?

Need help with your car stereo system? Have a technical question? Post here.
boson21

Post by boson21 »

Hi, I’m new to Phoenix Gold as a brand and have shortlisted the SL10D2 as I need a shallow sub. I have modelled it against the Pioneer TS-SW2501S2 and Alpine SWRT10 in WINISD and it extends lower with a higher SPL than the well regarded Alpine, and provides a flatter response than the Pioneer in the 18l sealed enclosure I have to work with.

I have read a German test that has the Thiele / Small parameters different to those published in the datasheet and I’m also trying to understand if the published SPL of 90db is correct and if so is this 2.83V or 1w@1m (as I’m modelling using WINISD I really need to be comparing drivers based on the same units to make any sense).

So, can anyone;
  • Confirm the specs / parameters (and provide an accurate 1w@1m SPL figure)?
  • Provide any insight into how the driver performs in real-life (or can give compassion with either of the others mentioned)?
  • Or have any other suggestions for my application (installing in existing sub space to limited to 18l sealed enclosure with 200W to drive it).
Many thanks… :)
boson21

Re: Shallow sub choice - PG SL10D2 ?

Post by boson21 »

I suppose that answers it then - if nobody can provide input and are not prepared to recommend the driver on the vendors own forum then guess what, I'm staying away!! Shame as it looked reasonable on paper, but there you have it...
holmis

Post by holmis »

boson21 wrote:I suppose that answers it then - if nobody can provide input and are not prepared to recommend the driver on the vendors own forum then guess what, I'm staying away!! Shame as it looked reasonable on paper, but there you have it...
You got to get PPL time to see the post....

& welcome to the Phorum 8)
Old School PG Fan/Collector & Jeep fanatic...
Madman in a nuclear mode!!